Webinar on welcoming refugees slated for March 8

Love in Action: Episcopal Churches Welcome Refugees

Episcopal Migration Ministries is hosting a one-hour free webinar,Love in Action: Episcopal Churches Welcome Refugees, on Wednesday, March 8 at 4 pm Eastern (3 pm Central/2 pm Mountain/1 pm Pacific/noon Alaska/11 am Hawaii).

Participants will learn about community efforts born out of Episcopal congregations to create a welcoming community for refugees and immigrants. Three faith communities will share stories about their local community and interfaith initiatives to create a ministry of welcome.

Presenters include West Virginia Interfaith Refugee Ministry, Northern Virginia Friends of Refugees, and Refugee Community Center of Allentown, PA.

Leading the March 8 webinar will be Allison Duvall, Episcopal Migration Ministries Manager for Church Relations and Engagement.

Registration is required and is available here.  The webinar will be available on-demand following the event.

For background, it is recommended that participants view the recorded February 1 webinar, The Episcopal Church Welcomes Refugees, as a pre-requisite to the March 8 webinar. The recording is available here. 

For more information, contact Duvall at aduvall@episcopalchurch.org.

A limited number of slots will be available for deeper conversation after the webinar on how to cultivate a ministry of welcome in your faith community, offering virtual interactive roundtable discussions with the three presenters. These roundtable discussions will happen throughout the remainder of March. Additional information will be available.

Episcopal Migration Ministries
Episcopal Migration Ministries is the Episcopal Church’s foremost response to refugee crises. Working in partnership with offices and groups within the church as well as with governments, non-government organizations (NGOs), and a network of 31 affiliate offices in 26 dioceses, Episcopal Migration Ministries assures safe passage and provides vital services for thousands of refugee families upon their arrival in America: English language and cultural orientation classes; employment services; school enrollment; and initial assistance with housing and transportation. For each family, the goal is self-reliance and self-determination. After years of living in limbo, thanks to Episcopal Migration Ministries, refugees now have the opportunity to begin again on a strong foundation that honors their stories and dignity.